My name is Ameerah, believe it or not. My Christian mother gave me this name, it is on my birth- certificate. So Alhumdililah I never had to change it.  Before I accepted Islam. I grew up in a Southern home, I was raised Christian, but later, denounced all religions, and became atheist. I am 33 years old and a female.(at the time I wrote this)

 I was raised in a small Southern Town in USA. The population was very small so muslims and islam were not even heard of, everyone knows everyone, you could most likely count the people on your hand. People still sit on their porches and raise up to wave at you when you drive by in your cars. Thats just how small  the town  was. There was no mosque there. I had never heard about Islam until years later. I was raise in a family, that believed in going to Church every  Sunday , there were no if and buts about it.  

 I always wondered how I got the name Ameerah. It was not a common name among westerners.I use to always get pick on in school because of my name. Its an Arabic name meaning Princess, also I met a girl in grade five who was a Muslimah, so she introduced me to Islam, and told me the basics of how to be a muslimah she told me that in Islam they prayed Five times a day, she also mention that muslims did not eat Pork, and also after reading the Auto-Biography of Malcolm X. By Alex Haley I started to know this was something I wanted to look more in to. Also the fact, that I started snooping and found out that my mother has accepted Islam years before, and had left the religion. So this was another thing that had peaked my interested and made me want to learn more about Islam. 

 After I had managed to get a hold of the copy of the translation of The Holy Qur’an, and I read it. It was as tho The Quran was speaking directly at me, I knew it was the truth. How could someone(Mohammed) PBUH that could not read predict things long before our time. SubhanAllah! Also I thought about that if I died, and it could be anytime, that I would die a disbeliever, so I did not want to take that chance, and with the encouragement of others I had met along the way . I decided to take my Shahada on May 20,2004

 

 

Alhamdulillah Allah guides whom he wills

I  really hope you enjoyed my story and how I came to islam, this is a shorter version and in time I plan to write out the longer full story

 

 

Key Words

 

Allah(God ) is arabic word  means One  God.

PBUH ( abbreviation)  Peace be upon him we add this to the end of the Prophet  Muhammad’s name when referring  to him

 

Masjid or Mosque ( place of worship)

Shahada ( testimony of faith )

Alhamdulillah ( praise)

SubhanAllah  ( glory be to God)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

